Real Women

Viv's Photo copy

Meet Vivian, Partner & CMO!

… One of the reasons I joined the Stella Carakasi team is because of the women. We are a women-run company, and all the ladies are smart, sassy, interesting, and stellar at what they do (of course, the men aren’t bad either 🙂

We are girls, mothers, partners, colleagues, sisters and friends. We compliment each other for a job well done (and for a good-looking outfit), and we call out the things that are not good enough. We bring all aspects of ourselves to the table, and we challenge each other to be better.

Simply stated, I am in the company of real women, and it’s awesome.

Why do I use the term “Real Women”? I use it out of the deepest respect for who these women are and what they manifest in the world. I use it because, at this point in time, they – WE – all dare to express ourselves fully — beauty, smarts, opinions, style and all. And yes, I consider myself a real woman, too.

I often wonder about a woman’s life story and the many things that have transpired and come together to create who she is today. Of course, this is a universal conversation that extends beyond the Stella Carakasi team to men and the world at large. However, I believe a woman’s experience in life has a different level of complexity and texture, especially in light of the many roles we embody as girls, women, girlfriends, mothers, sisters, daughters and professionals.

To this point, I want to bring our larger community of women to life, as I know there are many amazing stories to share. So, please contribute to our blogs with your perspectives and invite your friends and loved ones to join our conversations. And, if you are among the company of the real women who love wearing Stella and would like to share your favorite looks and more, let us know!

In the meantime, here’s one of my life stories:

I have loved art, design & fashion since I was a little girl. In fact, I wanted very badly to attend Parsons School of Design in NYC for college. However, I was raised by a very practical mother and chose instead to attend UC Berkeley to major in Genetics. My creativity (and frustration) expressed itself through various avenues and professions over the years: dance, choreography, costume & prop design, drumming, art projects with my two kids, aikido, branding, PR & marketing, and management consulting.  Now at 45, I have found myself full circle back at home in the world of fashion, but now with a lifetime of confidence, experience and possibilities at my fingertips. Interestingly enough, my mother, who had persuaded me to step off my path, was the very one who encouraged me to get back on. “You have to do something creative now. It’s time you did something for yourself,” she told me. And so, here I am at Stella, loving it and living it – and laughing at the irony of it all. Life makes so much more sense looking backwards, doesn’t it? And I guess mothers always know best somehow.

In reflection, I have learned along the way that my heart has always known my truth. So my advice: Trust it, and your life will follow your right path.

>> Do you have a story to share? Or some advice for life?

This is just one voice from the Stella Carakasi team: Vivian Dai, Partner & CMO

About Stella Carakasi

San Francisco Bay Area designer, Stella Carakasi, features her women's collection at www.stellacarakasi.com and boutiques in the US and abroad. Stella explains, "My clothes are designed for women who value quality and practicality and are not afraid to be unique and a bit eclectic. They are confident, bohemian at times, and they like to make personal statements with their style. My clothes are not about age or body type, but rather about lifestyle." For customers in the SF Bay Area, join us at Stella Studio for community events, including trunk shows, sample sales, and fundraisers. Stella Studio is located adjacent to our Design House at 1370 10th St. in Berkeley, CA.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Life & Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Real Women

  1. Elizabeth Barsali says:

    I was encouraged by a high school advisor to study engineering. A couple years in I came to the conclusion that I wouldn’t be happy in an engineering career, and switched to design. Luckily, my parents were supportive. When I started design classes I found “my people.” I wasn’t sure if I would ever have kids, then surprised everyone by having one at 40 and another at 42. There are a thousand other stories along the way. My life path has been more of a squiggle. But aren’t rollercoasters more fun than freeways?!

    • Congratulations for following your truth and finding your tribe! It’s interesting to experience living a reality that is “forced” to one that feels “just right.” I find a quiet contentment in the latter, along with a great sense of relief for finding home (again). Like you, I am a rollercoaster gal who prefers the highs and lows of life vs. the flatline (though speeding in the fast lane can be quite a thrill — then throw in a bunch of squiggles, and I’m giddy!) I often wonder what makes us think that life should be a straight line, but it seems that we always expect it to be so. In the end, we scratch our heads in confusion when we hit curve after curve, and life proves to be unpredictable. I personally have learned to rest during the straightaways so I can dig deep, let go and lean into the curves.

Leave a Reply

